Notification of connected users before shutdown ?

Posted: 01-23-2009, 12:14 AM
We are generating some frustration in the office when users shutdown their
PC while other users may be sharing files or resources on the computer being
shut down. Older versions of Windows warned the users, prior to shutdown,
that other users were connected. This allowed the user to warn other users
that they needed to shutdown or opt to shutdown later. Windows Vista
apparently does not provide this courtesy by default.

Does anyone know how we can restore that setting so that Windows will warn
us before shutdown that other users are connected to our computer and allow
us to decide whether to abort the shutdown or not?

Notification of connected users before shutdown ?


Responses to "Notification of connected users before shutdown ?"

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End Task notification at shutdown Kent Scheidt Windows XP Performance & Maintenance 1 05-04-2004 07:39 PM
RPC shutdown once connected to the NET Simon Jackson Windows XP Setup 4 02-10-2004 10:58 AM
Solution for Connection Icon not showing in notification tray even if you're connected and have the option to show enabled Black Baptist Windows XP Help & Support 0 01-17-2004 02:50 AM
Users connected during shutdown Rob Bigsby Windows XP Security & Administration 1 12-12-2003 11:38 PM
no computer icon in notification area when connected Nar Windows XP Network & Web 0 10-13-2003 01:56 AM