piracy

Posted: 07-31-2003, 04:40 AM
To whom this may concern,My grandaughter's computer dies
she had a hp from walmart,but she took it to a local
computer store in jan and they said they fixed it but had
to put everything in a new case she had windows home xp
then she had professionel and no software the it died
again now we took it to my son in law and he got the bios
off it and he said it had piracy software on it and will
probobly die again with this code on it FCKGW-RHQQ2-YXRKT-
8TG6W.Is there anything we can do about this.I guess you
can not trust anyone
Reply With Quote

Responses to "piracy"

Jupiter Jones [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
Re: piracy
Posted: 07-31-2003, 05:53 AM
Catherine;
That is one of the common pirated Product Keys.
Contact Microsoft Piracy:
http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/reporting/

--
Jupiter Jones [MVP]
An easier way to read newsgroup messages:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p...oups/setup.asp
http://dts-l.org/index.html


"catherine marr" <marr1@adelphia.net> wrote in message
news:061c01c35715$892db670$a501280a@phx.gbl...
> To whom this may concern,My grandaughter's computer dies
> she had a hp from walmart,but she took it to a local
> computer store in jan and they said they fixed it but had
> to put everything in a new case she had windows home xp
> then she had professionel and no software the it died
> again now we took it to my son in law and he got the bios
> off it and he said it had piracy software on it and will
> probobly die again with this code on it FCKGW-RHQQ2-YXRKT-
> 8TG6W.Is there anything we can do about this.I guess you
> can not trust anyone

Reply With Quote
jonnnin
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
Re: piracy
Posted: 07-31-2003, 02:09 PM
In your original stuff from walmart should be an ugly
green envelope or a cd case with an ugly green mess glued
to it with your legal code. likely the techs put the bad
one on when you went in to get it fixed. The first crash
probably was not from the bad code, but some other issue.
I dont think you will find that walmart was shipping bad
copies of the os, so look for this package so you will
know who to report.


>-----Original Message-----
>Catherine;
>That is one of the common pirated Product Keys.
>Contact Microsoft Piracy:
>http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/reporting/
>
>--
>Jupiter Jones [MVP]
>An easier way to read newsgroup messages:
>http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p.../newsgroups/se
tup.asp
>http://dts-l.org/index.html
>
>
>"catherine marr" <marr1@adelphia.net> wrote in message
>news:061c01c35715$892db670$a501280a@phx.gbl...
>> To whom this may concern,My grandaughter's computer dies
>> she had a hp from walmart,but she took it to a local
>> computer store in jan and they said they fixed it but
had
>> to put everything in a new case she had windows home xp
>> then she had professionel and no software the it died
>> again now we took it to my son in law and he got the
bios
>> off it and he said it had piracy software on it and will
>> probobly die again with this code on it FCKGW-RHQQ2-
YXRKT-
>> 8TG6W.Is there anything we can do about this.I guess you
>> can not trust anyone
>
>
>.
>
Reply With Quote
Ben
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
Piracy
Posted: 11-24-2003, 07:19 PM
Is this legitimate? Or could I be buying illegally copied
software? I got this email the other day directing me to
this web site offering oem XP Professional for 39.95. Does
this sound legitimate? They say by offering only the
software and registration code with no manuals it allows
them to price the product so low.


http://oem-cheap.biz/offer/index.html?kPgXmqE2rP
Reply With Quote
Bruce Chambers
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
Re: Piracy
Posted: 11-24-2003, 07:49 PM
Greetings --

No, it's not likely to be "legit." The most obvious clue, besides
the too-good-to-be-true pricing, found in the FAQ, is: "The software
is shipped from Eastern Europe."


Bruce Chambers

--
Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on
having both at once. -- RAH


"Ben" <bjschw@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:027a01c3b2bf$d6002fe0$a401280a@phx.gbl...
> Is this legitimate? Or could I be buying illegally copied
> software? I got this email the other day directing me to
> this web site offering oem XP Professional for 39.95. Does
> this sound legitimate? They say by offering only the
> software and registration code with no manuals it allows
> them to price the product so low.
>
>
> http://oem-cheap.biz/offer/index.html?kPgXmqE2rP

Reply With Quote
Jeremy
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
Re: Piracy
Posted: 11-24-2003, 09:45 PM
"Note, that you will not be able to register the software with the
manufacturer and get their support"

Hmmm that little quote alone from there FAQ tells me its a really good
chance its not legit.

That and the fact it is shipped from Europe.

--


Jeremy Kettelhohn


"Ben" <bjschw@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:027a01c3b2bf$d6002fe0$a401280a@phx.gbl...
> Is this legitimate? Or could I be buying illegally copied
> software? I got this email the other day directing me to
> this web site offering oem XP Professional for 39.95. Does
> this sound legitimate? They say by offering only the
> software and registration code with no manuals it allows
> them to price the product so low.
>
>
> http://oem-cheap.biz/offer/index.html?kPgXmqE2rP

Reply With Quote
Jeremy
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
Re: Piracy
Posted: 11-24-2003, 09:49 PM
Also the domain is registered to someone in Russia. Also there order page
is unencrypted. Site is just screaming give me your credit card so a hacker
or us can rob you blind. Site has only been registered for 11 days, sounds
like a major fly by night operation to rip cheapskates off with pirated
products, and harvest credit card numbers for later.

--


Jeremy Kettelhohn

"Ben" <bjschw@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:027a01c3b2bf$d6002fe0$a401280a@phx.gbl...
> Is this legitimate? Or could I be buying illegally copied
> software? I got this email the other day directing me to
> this web site offering oem XP Professional for 39.95. Does
> this sound legitimate? They say by offering only the
> software and registration code with no manuals it allows
> them to price the product so low.
>
>
> http://oem-cheap.biz/offer/index.html?kPgXmqE2rP

Reply With Quote
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
activation-piracy site photo Larry Windows XP Photos 0 10-06-2003 09:51 AM
Wondering how the Directory "Pace Anti Piracy" was Placed on my system?!?!?!?!!? Bite My Bubbles Windows XP Help & Support 1 08-31-2003 05:39 AM
Piracy Simon Lam Windows XP New Users 5 08-24-2003 04:23 PM


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90